HOPEWELL AREA SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR WORK MEETING JANUARY 10, 2017

The Board of Directors of the Hopewell Area School District met in regular session on Tuesday, January 10, 2017, in the Board Room, Administration Building, 2354 Brodhead Road, Hopewell Township.

The meeting was called to order at 7:05 p.m. by David Bufalini, Board President.

Prayer and flag salute was led by Mr. Allison. Roll call by the secretary followed. Those Directors in attendance were:

David Bufalini Lesia Dobo Rob Harmotto (via video conference) Lori McKittrick Daria Minton Anna Segner

> Members absent: John Bowden Daniel Santia Jeffrey Winkle

Also in attendance were: Dr. Michelle Miller, Superintendent; Dr. Jacie Maslyk, Assistant Superintendent; John Salopek, Solicitor; Johannah M. Robb, Business Administrator; Nancy Barber, Secretary; Michael Allison and Edward Katkich, Principals; and citizens.

Dr. Miller announced that the following item would be voted on later in the meeting. She and Mrs. Robb then reviewed the agenda in its entirety.

Finance and Budget: Mr. Bowden, Chair; Mr. Winkle, Co-Chair

1. Resolution #1-2017, a Resolution of the Board of Directors of the Hopewell Area School District, certifying that the District will not raise the rate of any tax for the support of the public schools for the following fiscal year by more than its index, which for the 2017-2018 school year is 3.3%.

The following items will be voted on at the January 24, 2017 Board meeting.

Buildings and Grounds

1. Request by Beaver County Special Olympics to use the pool every Monday from 9:45 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. beginning January 30, 2017 through March 27, 2017 for swim practice.

Mrs. Robb reviewed items under Finance and Budget that would be voted on at the January 24, 2017 Board Meeting.

Finance and Budget

- 1. Audit Report of the Hopewell Area School District for the year ended June 30, 2016 issued by Hosack, Specht, Muetzel & Wood, LLP, Certified Public Accountants.
- 2. Resolution #2-2017 establishing the compensation paid to the tax collector of Hopewell Township of \$4.50 per real estate tax parcel and \$4.50 per interim real estate tax parcel beginning a four-year term starting the first Monday of January 2018.
- 3. Resolution #3-2017 establishing the compensation paid to the tax collector of Independence Township of \$4.50 per real estate tax parcel and \$4.50 per interim real estate tax parcel beginning a four-year term starting the first Monday of January 2018.
- 4. Resolution #4-2017 establishing the compensation paid to the tax collector of Raccoon Township of \$4.50 per real estate tax parcel and \$4.50 per interim real estate tax parcel beginning a four-year term starting the first Monday of January 2018.

Personnel

1. Appointment of Ciara Cutone as Second Grade Department Chair, effective January 25, 2017.

Policy

- 1. Approve revised Board Policy.
 - a. Policy 609 Investment of District Funds

Visitors

No visitors wished to address the Board.

At this point in the meeting Mr. Bufalini returned to Finance and Budget

Finance and Budget by Daria Minton

MOTION #1

By Daria Minton, seconded by Lesia Dobo, to approve Resolution #1-2017, a Resolution of the Board of Directors of the Hopewell Area School District, certifying that the District will not raise the rate of any tax for the support of the public schools for the following fiscal year by more than its index, which, for the 2017-2018 school year, is 3.3%.. MOTION carried unanimously by an affirmative roll call vote of all Directors in attendance.

Executive Session

An Executive Session was held following the meeting to discuss personnel. This announcement is being made to be in compliance with Act 84 of 1986, Pennsylvania's Sunshine Law, as amended.

<u>Adjournment</u>

There being no further discussion or recommendations to come before the Board of Directors, Mr. Bufalini asked for a motion for adjournment.

MOTION by Lesia Dobo, seconded by Daria Minton, that the meeting be adjourned. MOTION CARRIED.

Mr. Bufalini adjourned the meeting at 7:25 p.m.

HOPEWELL AREA SCHOOL BOARD

David Bufalini, President

Nancy Barber, Secretary